Up Toward the Light

Pre-Order Now

Up Toward the Light, Through a simple conversation between a boy and a tree, country-music star Granger Smith shares an incredibly powerful and deeply moving story filled with life lessons on loss, grief, and the strength gained in finding the light and the will to move forward with joy and purpose.

Pre-Order Now

About The Book

In this wonder-filled and inspiring story of surprising loss but found strength, a boy encounters a red oak who shares forest wisdom about the rich soil and the nourishing sun, pointing the boy toward a simple truth about moving on: we must grow toward the light. With breathtaking artwork from Laura Watkins, this picture book

  • is for ages 4 to 8;
  • is a message of hope and strength that is passed through generations;
  • shares the value of pain, grief, and reaching out of the darkness toward the light; and
  • is perfect for fans of The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse; The Velveteen Rabbit; The Invisible String or other beloved stories that teach life lessons through simple but profound moments.

As you settle into the soothing nature of Granger's storytelling, let this meaningful interaction between a boy and a tree guide you toward the purpose and goodness of life.

1 of 3

About The Illustrator

Laura Watkins was often found drawing on wallpaper as a child. There just weren’t enough regular sheets of paper to keep up with the demand! But since graduating with a degree in illustration in 2011, Laura has been very busy and very content to work on books. When she’s not drawing, Laura is usually found riding horses or trying to keep control of her two Irish Setters.

About The Author

Granger Smith is giving everything to God. After 24 years touring as an award-winning, platinum-selling country music singer-songwriter, Smith chose to leave the music business to pursue ministry. The "Like a River" summer tour in 2023 will mark his last as he moves full throttle toward his faith. Honoring his late son, River, Granger's first book, Like a River: Finding the Faith and Strength to Move Forward after Loss and Heartache, was released on August 1, 2023 (W Publishing Group, an imprint of Thomas Nelson). Compelled by the call to ministry, Granger intends to serve his local church under the teaching, council, and leadership of his pastor and elders while he continues work on a master's degree at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, along with public speaking and authorship. Granger and his wife, Amber, live north of Austin, Texas, with their kids London, Lincoln, and Maverick. Visit grangersmith.com for more.